Author Topic: When Diamond's Began...  (Read 1698 times)

Offline Dresden

When Diamond's Began...
« on: April 17, 2016, 09:22:02 PM »
Hi Everyone!

Okay, so, it was one of those nights a few nights ago when there was no way at all that I was going to get to sleep, 1am ticked by and was still VERY awake, among many things that were on my mind from the day ( it was one of those stressful ones) I was totally thinking about Diamonds, funny that  ;D ;D ;D I was thinking about the beginnings of Diamonds all those many, many years ago...and I really got thinking about allsorts of things. and so here are the more interesting questions/queries I had, since I am no expert, maybe some experts out there will have some kind of answers  :sultan:

1st query...okay, so, when Diamonds formed all that time ago...did they just form from carbon, such as old matter, like, hmmm, does that mean like plants, trees, or dinosaurs??? See, really I have no scientific idea at all  ;D

2nd query...is every Diamond the same age as another??? Did they all form around the same time? It seems to me that diamonds really only seem to be mined in really hot or really cold places, Argyle is hot, Africa is Hot, Canada is Cold...any reason for this?

3rd Query...If Diamonds are soooo old, then does that mean that no 'new' ones are forming and we are only finding what nature made sooo long ago?

4th query...Why are some Diamonds large and others not, some form small chunks while others large chunks...and why and how did some form colorless and others fancy colored, I know its to do with trace elements etc but maybe we will never know exactly why some form large and others not so large.

:pear: :pear2: :radiant: :heart2: :princess:

and the queries continue... ;D