Author Topic: HELP! Book Needs CDIer GOOD VIBES!  (Read 4953 times)

Offline Trinkette

HELP! Book Needs CDIer GOOD VIBES!
« on: April 26, 2013, 03:15:19 PM »
Okay, some of you already know that I'm a writer by trade (sorry, that's why I blather on and on here). ::) And, a few of you know that I've been working on a book series.

It's fiction. It's fun. And, it IS about gems and jewelry.  >:D

I've been afraid to talk about it, fearing a "jinx" while my literary agent reviewed the proposal and sample manuscript. Happily, THAT part of the process is behind me; my agent loves the series! (He better, it was his idea in the first place, lol).

With that huge hurdle behind me, the series proposal is now with two editors at two different publishing houses. One editor was given an exclusive look at the proposal, but, unfortunately, she was out sick and then on vacation during the weeks (and extra weeks) of the exclusive period. So, last week, after an excruciating wait, my agent sent the package on to the second editor.

Now, the first editor is back and has moved the proposal along in-house and will present it early next week, ostensibly, to make a decision whether or not to purchase the series (I'm encouraged that the editor liked it enough to pass it along up the ladder, yet I know that is not enough for a sale). Moreover, I'm told that the second editor at the second publisher is likely to make a decision very quickly. So now, my agent says he expects to hear soon whether we have a sale or not. He also cautions me that its not about the writing, it is ALL about selling the concept and marketability.

*SIGH*

So, since I am a basket case about this as well as a firm believer in the power of energy and belief I'm stepping out of my comfort zone to share a little more information here, hoping that some positive thoughts and GOOD VIBES from all of you here will help move this along to a positive end.