Author Topic: Hello all...Large purple red? diamond with blood red flouresence-need to value  (Read 10125 times)

Offline a1co

Hello all..
I'm a bit new to this but I have a large red/purple stone tests + on a diamond tester and flouresence is blood red very strong!
it's the size of my little finger nail aprox 10mm round cut in a 18 or 22 ct gold sunburst with hyroglyphic hallmarks both on individual wires of the sunburst and a different hyroglyph on the posts holding the stone...I have been unable to identify the hallmaks exactly but is 100% defininately high ct gold.
excuse any spelling mistakes I'm in the uk..
Would really like to get a picture on here of it flourecing and just to get an idea of value.
All the best, Al

Offline oldmancoyote

• Member Moderator
From your description, it's most likely to be a ruby, but this is a guess, without photos and a lot more information. Take it to a jeweller or a gemmologist - they should be able to identify it for sure and also tell you if it is synthetic or natural.

As to value, it's really impossible to say without positive identification and viewing the stone - too much depends on factors such as colour, clarity, size and cut that need to be assessed with the stone in hand.
« Last Edit: December 09, 2011, 02:29:31 PM by oldmancoyote »

Offline a1co

Thankyou for advice.
Would a ruby test positive on an electronic tester? and do Ruby's fluoresce like that ? IE real color charge?
it appears more purple than red in ordinary light but comes alive in sunlight
there are no scratches or marks at all on the surface of it and the brooch that its in is obviously very old so dint think its a lab grown one.
Thanks again,,
 this has been intriguing me for nearly 2 years now so its time to work it out.

Offline oldmancoyote

• Member Moderator
Electronic tester: in a setting any reading on thermal conductivity will be misleading, and that's what most testers rely on.