Author Topic: Details on the manufacture of custom made DBL Jewelry  (Read 10193 times)

Offline ah2bqat

Details on the manufacture of custom made DBL Jewelry
« on: June 25, 2009, 01:00:20 AM »
Mikla, can you, or OMC, or David, or anyone else who has lived thru the process tell me something?  How long a process is it from initial design to wax cast to finished product?  Assuming, of course, that not too many snags hit the works.    

I've never done a custom design before; and also of course, I'm anxious to see what comes of Li'l BLOOO.  Truly, I've got no clue concerning the process that has just started.  I can't bug David to hold my hand throughout the entire process.   You know how good he is about updates, but I'm talking the overall big picture.  
« Last Edit: June 26, 2009, 12:12:39 AM by Diamondsbylauren »
Auntie Dammit :Heart: DBL!

Offline Mikla

Re: What does take to get a custom DBL piece?
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2009, 07:55:15 AM »
My experience has been that the design process takes the longest, if you're like me, and can't make up your mind quickly!  ;D Also, I've requested some things that David has had to check with the designers to see if my idea can be done or if they have different designs for us to consider.   ::)  Ultimately, the design process goes on for a month or two until I'm sure about the final design.  Sometimes you've got to get samples of side stones if they're not in stock or if they're unusual.  If David has to search for a unique stone or melee, that could take two to four weeks.   :cross:  Depending on how busy the factory is, getting a wax takes about a week to ten days but it could take longer around holidays, conventions, or if they are really backed up.   :Whistle:  If you request changes, then you've got to wait again as a new wax is made until you're happy with it.   :)
Once you have the stones and the final wax, it can take three to four weeks for the factory to manufacture your piece.   :waiting: