Author Topic: Reasons to go with someone you trust!  (Read 10782 times)

Offline newhope

Reasons to go with someone you trust!
« on: May 08, 2008, 11:24:19 PM »
Well, if you've been following the "sending a stone of next week" thread, you'll know what my Girlfriend would prefer a colorless diamond to the pink that I have, so I've talked with David at DBL about selling it for me on consignment, but before we can go any further, I have to be able to tell him what I'd like to get for the stone.

Since I'm no expert on what the stone is worth, I've been trying to get an appraisal. (Not that an appraisal will tell me what the stone is actually worth, but at least it'll be a start!)

First Experience:

Jeweler offers "verbal appraisal" for free or a written insurance appraisal for $59.95 plus tax
I ask the jeweler if he's qualified to appraise colored diamonds. He assures me he is.
I ask for the verbal appraisal to start with. He takes out his Rapp sheet, and a calculator, and declares the value at $2007 for insurance purposes, and says that a written appraisal will say the same, but have more information for the insurance company etc.

I asked the jeweler why the price was that low, and he proceeded to inform me that the only colored diamonds worth more than colorless stones where blue, and any other color was worth less than a colorless diamond.

I asked if he had any fancy pink or yellow diamonds he'd like to sell me for $2500 a carat.  >:D

Second Experience:

Another Jeweler offers either a free verbal appraisal or a $75 written appraisal.
I ask the jeweler if he's qualified to grade a colored diamond, he says he is. The jeweler then tells me that he's willing to write any price I'd like him to on the appraisal, but anything over $100,000 will cost $100 for the written appraisal.  ::)

:david:, it might take a little while longer for me to figure it out  :-\

Offline GIAGirl

Re: Reasons to go with someone you trust!
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2008, 11:52:17 PM »